Trip Advisor Reviews

We took our family, who had never fished before, and who are visiting from Holland here on Sunday 15th January 2017. The Owner and Staff were so friendly and couldn't have made our visit any better...
Holliejade2015 - Melbourne Visited January 2017
Read More >>
Went here for a few hours and tried our luck at fishing caught 5 trout which they clean and gut for you they were delicious. Great for all ages especially children...
352Glenys - Australia Visited January 2017
Read More >>
I went here today with my two sons and thought it was fantastic. The owner came out and helped to teach my son how to cast and gave him some tips on how to catch the larger fish (brown trout) in one of the less populated ponds...
Stuartelliott - Melbourne, Australia Visited October 2016
Read More >>

Google Reviews

Amazing Landscaping make these fishing ponds just absolutely divine to throw a line into. BBQ's excellently located and plenty of covered picnic benches to use...
- Ed D.
Read More >>
I went here today with my two sons and thought it was fantastic. We read these reviews beforehand so were intrigued to meet the grumpy owners (as described). As it happens the old bloke was very helpful...
- Stuart Elliott
Read More >>
fishing for kids Melbourne

Trip Advisor Reviews

We took our family, who had never fished before, and who are visiting from Holland here on Sunday 15th January 2017. The Owner and Staff were so friendly and couldn't have made our visit any better!

After fishing for around 3 hours and not having much luck - with no fault of the property, it was a hot a day and also lunchtime, the owner arranged for us to go to another Pond to have another go so we could be guaranteed a fish! That was very nice of him, what a lovely man :)

Thanks again! We will be back soon! We have the Fish for dinner last night and we were all very happy :)

Highly recommend for families, our Son is 3 and had a ball :)

Holliejade2015 - Melbourne
Visited January 2017

Went here for a few hours and tried our luck at fishing caught 5 trout which they clean and gut for you they were delicious. Great for all ages especially children.

352Glenys - Australia
Visited January 2017

I went here today with my two sons and thought it was fantastic. The owner came out and helped to teach my son how to cast and gave him some tips on how to catch the larger fish (brown trout) in one of the less populated ponds. The tips worked (caught the 9th after missing 8 in a row over about an hour and a half).

I have been to other trout farms and found this far more enjoyable. At other farms you can throw a line into the water and literally catch a fish by the tail in two minutes there are so many in a tank. Zero skills required. Might as well go to the shop. And you have to leave within the hr or you end up with hundreds of dollars worth of fish very quickly. This farm has enough fish that you can catch a few, but large enough dams so that you actually feel like you are fishing and it takes a few hours. Perfect.

My kids actually felt like they learnt something about fishing and had a great time. Just ate the fish for dinner, excellent.

Stuartelliott - Melbourne, Australia
Visited October 2016

What a beautiful place :) it was very relaxing day to spend Fathers Day - ended up catching around 10 or so trout between the whole family. The only thing i would recommend is bringing something to clean the BBQ with if you plan on using them, the plates are a bit rusty but i imagine its from the weather in Marysville. We had foil so just placed it over the hot plate and cooked our meat on the foil :)

Nicisawesomelol - Melbourne, Australia
Visited September 2016

good place to for kids to fish as there are many ponds and can easily catch 1 within 10-15m mins.... my girls loved it as they caught total of 6 within an hour!

Kelvin L
Visited June 2016

Gorgeous setting with heaps of sumptuous fish to catch in various ponds. Friendly service. Well priced.

ClaireB - Melbourne
Visited April 2015

Lovely family business and totally into sharing the experience of their place from an environmental, sustainable, recreational, experiential place - lovely environment and smoked trout a delight, special place to introduce kids to fishing and remind oneself of how we once did simple things so exceptionally well. Free barbecues to cook your own catch - very cool.

PaulaYeatman
Visited April 2015

Been going here for as long as l remember, Great place, friendly staff, and when you cant catch a fish in the pristine Mountain rivers its still good for a fish or two to take home to show the family (ha ha), Great place to take the little ones for a Quick excitement Boost and spirit lifter.

Dean G - Melbourne
Visited September 2014

if you miss this during your visit and you will not know what you are missing. Best smoked trout ever....believe me. Recent renovations make this a very inviting option.

Vic_Traveller_8 - Melbourne
Visited April 2015

Wonderful to be able to catch your lunch. You know it's fresh. Children rate it as one of their best days.

Lynetteedwards2014 - Melbourne
Visited November 2014

Friendly, beautiful, easy. Great for kids and beginner fishermen. Jenny (owner) took loads of time to teach us how and has a wicked sense of humour.

Rdflloyd - Sydney
Visited October 2014

Google Reviews

Amazing Landscaping make these fishing ponds just absolutely divine to throw a line into. BBQ's excellently located and plenty of covered picnic benches to use.

- Ed D.

I went here today with my two sons and thought it was fantastic.

We read these reviews beforehand so were intrigued to meet the grumpy owners (as described). As it happens the old bloke was very helpful. Perhaps because we showed interest in the fish farm, the owner came out and helped to teach my son how to cast and gave him some tips on how to catch the larger fish (brown trout) in one of the less populated ponds. The tips worked (caught the 9th after missing 8 in a row over about an hour and a half).

I have been to other trout farms and found this far more enjoyable. At other farms you can throw a line into the water and literally catch a fish by the tail in two minutes there are so many in a tank. Zero skills required. Might as well go to the shop. And you have to leave within the hr or you end up with hundreds of dollars worth of fish very quickly. This farm has enough fish that you can catch a few, but large enough dams so that you actually feel like you are fishing and it takes a few hours. Perfect.

Anyway, my kids actually felt like they learnt something about fishing and had a great time.

I did note the old bloke was a bit grumpy with people who don't follow the rules and return caught fish to the dams, but fair enough.

- Stuart Elliott

Additional Comments and Feedback

If you would like to add to this page please email your comments and photos.

From: Susan Burns - YMCA
Sent: Tuesday, 28 September 2010

Hi there, I was writing to you to thank you for the wonderful experience a group of young adults with special needs had up at your Trout and Salmon ponds last week.

We brought a group of 8 young guys up last Monday 20th September who all were keen to catch a fish, which with the assistance of your friendly staff most defiantly happened.

We were so well accommodated for. With the BBQ's set up for us, assistance with catching a fish, welcoming friendly nature of the staff and the opportunity for an experience many had not had before!

Thank you again so much for your help and for providing such a wonderful service, we will defiantly be back!

Have a wonderful day, warm regards,
Susan Burns
Disability Services Co-ordinator and Youth Program Worker Manningham YMCA Inc.

It was fun feeding and touching the fish
Justin - Dingley

3 hours of fun, excellent place, best trout farm in Victoria
Craig - Bali

Had a great day with loads of laughs
Carl and Steph - Eltham

This is the third time we have been here and have had a great time everytime
Andrea - Dingley

Great fun to walk around with the kids and enjoy the fishing. Fantastic people who run it.
Hargrave family - Melbourne

Such a lovely, relaxing atmosphere and amazing service
Rececca and Anthony - Box Hill

Had a lovely relaxing and enjoyable time soaking up the winter sun. My 10 year old son even caught his first fish. A great day had by all especially with our 'hosts' help
Kin and Allen - Ringwood

Fabulous - what a hoot!! Fresh trout for dinner a prepared and ready for the bbq - will recommend this place and will come again
The Cuddie Family - Doncaster

Contact Information

  • 261 Marysville Rd Marysville
  • +61 (03) 5963 3558

© 2015 Marysville Trout and Salmon Ponds 261 Marysville Rd Marysville Vic 3779 Tel: (03) 5963 3558

/**/